1. Help Center
  2. Getting Started

User Access Levels

A user can have one of the following access levels: owner, admin, manager, regular user, and client.

Access levels can be changed by admins on the Settings / Users page.

Regular User

What regular users can do depends on whether the silent or the interactive app is used. 

Interactive

Regular users using the interactive desktop app can:

  • Control when their work is tracked (by starting and stopping the desktop app whenever they choose)

  • Log in to the web app to view reports about their own work

  • Manually edit time (if the Can edit time permission is given to that person)

Silent

By default, regular users using the silent app don’t have any permissions and are not allowed to log in to the web app to view their work data. 

If you’d like to give them access to their own data, please contact us by sending an email to support2@timedoctor.com. 

Manager

Managers can do everything that regular users can. They can also:

  • View reports on the work activity of everyone they manage

  • View the screenshots of everyone they manage

  • Manually edit the work of everyone they manage (if the Can edit time permission is given to that manager in Settings / Users)

  • Create projects and tasks for everyone they manage (if the Allow managers to create projects and tasks option is enabled on the Settings / Company settings page)

  • Invite new users to the user groups they manage (if the Allow managers to invite new users option is enabled on the Settings / Company settings page)

  • Set up work schedules for everyone they manage (if the Allow managers to set up work schedules option is enabled on the Settings / Company settings page)

Client

Clients have limited read-only access. They can’t track their own work and can only see selected reports limited by the people and projects that you’ve given them access to.


Learn how to configure what reports and user groups a client should see here

Admin 

Admins can do everything that regular users and managers can. They can also:

  • Invite and remove users

  • Edit all settings for other users on the Settings / Users page such as adjusting whether screenshots should be taken and when desktop apps should time out

  • Update company settings such as the time zone and tracking settings on the Settings / Company settings page

  • Change user privileges (promote a user from a regular user to a manager, select who manages whom, etc.)

  • Create and edit projects & tasks

  • Select which users have access to which projects

  • Manually edit the work of anyone in the company

  • Adjust everyone's work schedules

Owner

Each company account has only one owner. Owners can do everything that regular users, managers, and admins can. They can also:

  • Request cancellation or deletion of the company's Time Doctor account

  • Access and modify billing information, as well as give selected other users access to billing

  • Enable and disable payroll, as well as give selected other users access to it