How to set up Work Schedules in Time Doctor

This video explains how to set up work schedules in Time Doctor as well as how to use the attendance report.


How to Activate the Work Schedules Feature

Only admins and owners can activate the work schedules feature.

To do so, go to your Company Settings page. Enable Work Schedules by clicking the toggle on "Use Work Schedules" as shown below:

Once work schedules have been activated, you’ll see the Work Schedules page in your Settings menu and the Attendance Report in your Reports menu.

Adding Work Schedules

NOTE: For simple changes, you may do these from the Work Schedules page without the need to export and import a CSV file:

  • Add and/or edit a single shift directly in the UI. 

  • Delete a single shift

  • Bulk delete selected shifts.

There are three steps to follow to add work schedules to Time Doctor.

Step 1.

Export a CSV file with the users and the date range that you want to add schedules for.

Step 2.

Add shifts to that CSV file.

The following columns must exist in the file you upload, but only the unique identifier column needs to have a value:

  • Name
  • Email
  • Employee ID
  • Unique identifier (Do not edit.)
  • Date columns

The valid shift formats for this CSV file are:

Here’s a sample file with the shifts filled out.

To learn Spreadsheet Tips and Tricks, click here.

Step 3.

Upload the CSV file to Time Doctor.

Editing or Removing Work Schedules

Schedules can be edited or removed by uploading the same CSV file with those shifts edited or removed. 

Any dates and users included in an imported file will overwrite any work schedules already in the system for those same users and dates.

Individual shifts can be removed by clicking the trash icon that appears when you hover over that shift.

Work Schedules Permissions

- Owners and admins can view, add, and edit work schedules for anyone in the company.

- Managers have view-only access to the work schedules page. They can only see their own schedules as well as the schedules of the members of any groups that they manage.

  • Exception: If managers have been granted access to set up work schedules on the Company Settings page, then they can add and edit work schedules for themselves and for the members of the groups that they manage.

- Regular users can only view their own schedules.

- Clients don’t have access to this page.

The Attendance Report

Once work schedules have been added, you’ll see data in the Attendance Report.

You can learn more about the Attendance Report here.

Daylight Savings

Time changes for Daylight Savings will be applied based on the time zone specified in the "import" popup:

For example in 2021, Daylight Savings starts on:

  • March 14 in Toronto

  • March 28 in Berlin

If you specify "Berlin" in the popup's time zone field when uploading a daily shift from 9am to 5pm from March 1 to March 20, then when you're later looking at your Work Schedules or the Attendance Report...

  • If you select "Berlin" as the time zone at the top of the page, all shifts will run from 9am to 5pm throughout the entire date range from March 1 to March 20.

  • If you select "Toronto" as the time zone at the top of the page, you'll see that from March 1 to March 14 the shifts run from 3am to 11am (because that's 9am to 5pm in Berlin for those dates), and from March 15 to March 20 the shifts will run from 4am to 12pm (because that's 9am to 5pm in Berlin for those dates)

So if you want your employees' schedules to remain stable in a certain time zone, select that time zone when uploading work schedules.

If you have employees in different time zones, you'll probably want to upload a separate file for the people in each time zone.