This article will explain the functionality and interactions of the following:

  • The Can Edit Time setting
  • The Were You Working? pop-up

Note: Only administrators and owners have access to the Users page to access these two settings. (Managers and regular users do not.)


The Can Edit Time Setting

On the Users page, you’ll find a setting that determines if users can add manual time.

If you enable time editing:

  • Your users will be able to add their manual time entries.
  • If the desktop app automatically stops tracking due to a period with no keyboard or mouse activity, they will be able to add manual time using the Were You Working? pop-up. We’ll explain this more in depth in the Were You Working? pop-up section below.

If you do not allow time editing:

  • The users won’t be able to access the Edit time page.
  • If the desktop app automatically stops tracking due to a period with no keyboard or mouse activity, they won’t be able to add manual time using the Were You Working? pop-up. We’ll explain this more in depth in the Were You Working? pop-up section below.

You’ll be able to see the amount of manual time the user has added in the Activity Summary report.

The Were You Working? Pop-up

The Were You Working? pop-up will appear on your users’ screens after the period of no keyboard or mouse activity that you have selected on the Settings > Users page, in the “Inactive Time Starts After” column, has passed.

For example, if you have set this time period at three minutes, the user will see the following 60-second countdown warning after their computer has gone three minutes without any keyboard or mouse activity:


If the user doesn’t respond to the warning, the application will automatically stop tracking after those 60 seconds have passed. The warning pop-up will then be replaced by one of two possible pop-ups. The next pop-up will depend on whether or not you have enabled manual time for that user.

If time editing is enabled...

The user will see this pop-up if they don’t respond during the 60-second warning period:


The user will have the option to click on “Yes, I was working,” after which the time that they were inactive will be added as manual work time. This will appear in yellow (rather than green) in your Time Doctor reports.

If time editing is not enabled...

The user will see this pop-up if they don’t respond during the 60-second warning period:

There is no option to click “Yes, I was working” on this pop-up, so the user will be unable to add their inactive time as manual time through the pop-up. They’ll only be able to indicate that they’re now starting to work again.

To modify the inactive time setting for your users, go to Settings > Users and find the “Inactive Time Starts After” column. This is where you can set intervals for all users or individual users.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, send an email to support2@timedoctor.com.

Did this answer your question?