In this article, we’ll show you how to invite a client to your account. 

Client accounts are free accounts that cant track time and are only able to view the Projects and Tasks report.

  1. From your dashboard go to the Invite page.
  2. Enter the client’s email address and select the “Client” access level.
  3. Enable or disable the “Allow seeing screencasts” toggle. (This will allow the client to see screencasts from your employees.)
  4. Select the group(s) of employees that you want to allow your client can see.
  5. Select the project(s) that your client will be able to see. 

Note: You can also simply select a group of employees or a project. If you select a group, all projects belonging to that group will be visible to the client. On the other hand, if you just select a project then all of the employee reports from members of that project will be visible to the client.

For more information on this, please continue to the “How Limiting What Clients Can See Works” section at the end of this article.


After you send an invitation, your client will receive an email with the account setup link.

Your client has to click Set up my account to complete the registration by entering their full name and creating a password.

Your clients can also use this URL to login to Client portal at any time: 

http://2.timedoctor.com/

After login, your client will be able to see project reports and screencasts (if you have enabled this option).

How to Change What Clients Can See

If you want to change what your client has access to after the invite has been sent, simply do the following:

  1. Log into your Dashboard.
  2. Go to Settings -> Manage Users.
  3. Select a client and click edit (the pencil icon).
  4. Change the settings and click Save.

How Limiting What Clients Can See Works

State 1:

  • 0 projects selected
  • 1 user group selected

Shows all of the work done by the users in the user group, not limited by projects.

State 2:

  • 1 project selected
  • 0 user groups selected

Shows the work of everyone who has worked on the project, not limited by user groups.

State 3:

  • 0 projects selected
  • 0 user groups selected

Shows the following message after a client logs in, “You don’t have the access to view any user’s work.” This usually happens when a project or a user group has been deleted.

State 4:

  • 1 project selected
  • 1 user group selected

Shows only the work that was done for the selected project by the selected user group. The same applies when there are multiple user groups and multiple projects selected.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, please email support2@timedoctor.com

Did this answer your question?