In this article, we’ll show you how to invite a client to your account. 

Note: Client accounts are free accounts that can’t track time and their access is limited only to viewing reports.

  1. From your dashboard go to the Invite page.
  2. Enter the client’s email address and select the “Client” access level.
  3. Select the group(s) of employees that you want to allow your client can see.
  4. Select the project(s) that your client will be able to see. 
  5. Select the report(s) that your client can access

Note: You can also simply select a group of employees or a project. If you select a group, all projects belonging to that group will be visible to the client. On the other hand, if you just select a project, all of the employee reports from members of that project will be visible to the client.

For more information on this, continue to the “How Limiting What Clients Can See Works” section at the end of this article.


After you send an invitation, your client will receive an email with the account setup link.

Your client has to click Join Your Team and complete the registration by entering their full name and creating a password.

Once the account is set up, the clients can also use this URL to log into the client portal at any time: http://2.timedoctor.com/.

After logging in, your client will be able to see reports and screencasts (if you have enabled this option).

How to Change What Clients Can See

If you want to change what your client has access to after the invite has been sent, simply do the following:

  1. Log into your Dashboard.
  2. Go to Settings -> Users.
  3. Select a client and click edit (the pencil icon).
  4. Change the settings and click Save.

How Limiting What Clients Can See Works

State 1:

  • 0 projects selected
  • 1 user group selected

Shows all of the work done by the users in the user group, not limited by projects.

State 2:

  • 1 project selected
  • 0 user groups selected

Shows the work done by everyone who has worked on the project, not limited by user groups.

State 3:

  • 1 project selected
  • 1 user group selected

Shows only the work that was done for the selected project by the selected user group. The same applies when there are multiple user groups and multiple projects selected.

For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, send an email to support2@timedoctor.com.

Did this answer your question?