The information in this article applies to:
- The Productivity Widget
(This appears on the team dashboard and the user dashboard.)
- The Web and App Usage Report
- The Productivity Ratings page
- The Activity Summary Report
- The Timeline Report side panel
(The side panel will show up when you click on a time entry.)
How is Productivity Measured?
In the widgets/reports listed above, productivity is measured based only on which websites and applications are used.
Each website and application has one of four possible productivity ratings:
Setting Productivity Ratings
Many websites and applications have default ratings. For example, by default, Facebook.com is rated “unproductive” and Microsoft Excel is rated “productive.”
Many other websites and applications are “unrated.”
Admins and managers (if allowed) can set productivity ratings for each unrated website or app and can change the Productivity Ratings for websites and apps that already have ratings.
Who Has Access to Productivity Settings
By default, managers can’t set productivity ratings, but they can if this is enabled for them on the Company Settings page.
Setting Different Productivity Ratings for Different User Groups
The Scope column on the Productivity Ratings page shows the level at which the rating is applied. The scope can have three values:
- Global: Applies to all companies using Time Doctor
- Company: Applies to your company
- User Group: Applies to a specific user group within your company
- Individual: Applies to an individual person within your company
If a certain website or application has a rating set at more than one level, the lowest level takes precedence.
Here’s an example of how that works:
If Facebook is rated “unproductive” at the global level, then Facebook will be rated “unproductive” for all users in all companies by default.
However, if you rate Facebook “neutral” for your company, then that will override the global setting for your company. So, Facebook will be considered “neutral” for all users in your company.
If you then rate Facebook “productive” for a specific user group (like the marketing team that does advertising on Facebook), Facebook will be considered a productive use of time for the members of that group while it will still be considered “neutral” for everyone else in your company.
Where do a person’s productivity ratings come from if they’re a member of more than one group?
If someone is a member of only one group (apart from the default “All Regular Users” group), their productivity ratings come from the one group that they’re a member of.
If a person is a member of two or more groups (aside from the default “All Regular Users” group), their productivity ratings come from the company level and not from any of the groups that they’re a member of. The only exception to this is when a website and application has been rated differently for that particular individual (rated at the "Individual" scope). In that case, the individual rating will be applied.
How does changing productivity ratings affect past work?
If an owner/admin/manager changes productivity ratings on the Productivity Ratings page, these changes will affect the past reports as well.
Note: There might be a short delay before the ratings are applied to past work. The length of this delay will depend on how much past data needs to be changed.
However, if a user is moved from one group to another, these changes won’t affect the work tracked before the user was moved.
For example, Instagram is unproductive by default and you tracked 10 minutes on Instagram while you weren’t a member of any group. You then joined a group where Instagram is rated as productive. Those 10 minutes tracked before you joined the group will still count as unproductive, but any time tracked after joining the group will count as productive.
For questions, comments, or feedback regarding this topic, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.